Tea Please…

“When life gives you lemons you make lemonade.”

Or you could sell those sour lemons. Buy some tea bags and make iced tea. Why do we have to work with what life gives us? Can we not say, “You know life, I’m not happy with how things are going. I think I’ll change directions and go a new route!” But to start a new route, a new way, go in a new direction is so…it’s just so dang time consuming. It’s uncomfortable. It’s scary. It’s looking at something that you’ve never seen before; heard before, experienced before and saying. “Okay I can do this!” Not, my Mom can do this. Not, my Brother can do this. Not,lemonade.JPG and my Friend can do this. I can do this. It’s conjuring up the parts of you that sometimes fall asleep and get lazy. Dismantling the parts of you that get too comfortable and say, “Why bother? You can get by without doing all the extra hoop la. Everyone isn’t meant to reach the mountain top.” This is the point when you start to reconsider if those lemons weren’t so bad after all? But you have to think of it this way…with lemons you can only make one batch of lemonade. With tea bags you can use them several times. You can make hot tea, cold tea, sweet tea; add milk, honey or sugar. Basically if the tea isn’t coming out the way you like it the first time no worries. Dip them bad boys again in some hot water. Go ahead and use them same ole bags. On your next go around take away what’s not working. Add a little more sugar. Let is cool a little longer to ensure it’s just right

Today was my first day back to work after a two week vacation. I got caught up on quite a bit of work. The beginning half of my day went very well.  Someone must have silenced my desk phone while I was away because I noticed it was ringing but didn’t hear the jazzy tune I setup. It took me 5 minutes to figure how to do that. I lookedtea at the red button flashing and looked right back at my computer screen. I have vacationlag so unless someone called me two times in a row I did not answer. Later on in the day I get some unwelcoming news. What am I supposed to do with these lemons? Everyone says make lemonade. Man, I don’t want to make no stankin’ lemonade. Lemonade ain’t for everybody. I’m just going to have to conjure up those parts of me that sometimes fall asleep, get lazy and tell it to WAKE UP! I’m going to have to go the best route for me and mine. I’m going to try my tea with honey and if I don’t like that, I’ll try it with sugar and maybe a cinnamon stick and if I don’t fancy that maybe I’ll drink the bad boy straight! Shoot I ain’t got time for games. All I know is at the end of the day you can’t be afraid to try something new that has never been tried before or tried and failed by others (sometimes even yourself). If you get dealt a bad hand don’t think about how you can change the cards. Think about how you can change the game. Maybe your hand doesn’t work for Spades so try your luck with Go Fish. Any who, I was told there’s a storm supposed to roll through Atlanta tonight. I think I’ll go make sure my heater in on so my pipes don’t freeze and make me a cup of tea. No sweetener needed. Because this is me. This is JustTree.

 

 

Leave a Reply

