What happened? I happened

I met this guy through work but he didn’t work for my company. The whole time we chatted we laughed. I soon found out he was around my age, Jamaican from up north. I noticed throughout our conversation that he was huge on saying cliché statements. Being me I had to point it out in a joking manner of course. He then pointed out that I myself said at least one cliché statement. I told him it was probably self-reflection and why I probably hated hearing them. We continued on with our conversation and in the midst he pointed out that my elbows were ashy. I couldn’t do anything but laugh. Ashy elbows? Eh, I didn’t even try to look to confirm. I figured my lotion didn’t take. He must have enjoyed our conversation as much as I did because he asked for my number and not 30 minutes after we parted ways he began to text me. We texted for 3 weeks straight. Communicating at least 10 times throughout the day exchanging text messages and audio voice messages.  We agreed we both weren’t looking into jumping into anything but wanted to get to know each other and go the friendship route. He called me maybe twice and that was after I stated he should call. He invited me out a few times but only with a hour notice. To find a sitter within one hour to go out for possibly two hours was not worth it to me.

One day he invites me out to lunch during work. I couldn’t even swing that as I had a dentist appointment for my son one day and the other day he suggested I had to travel for work. So we set a day for Friday. He said he wanted to take me to his favorite restaurant. Chili’s. I’m not trying to be this way but I wouldn’t consider a chain restaurant a favorite especially with all the unique mom & pop places to eat at in Atlanta. Any who, I hit up my sitter & we’re all good to go. On the day of I wash clothes including the cute outfit I planned to wear. As they’re drying I notice I’m running late. I text him to let him know so that he could show up later than we planned. It was about 1 ½ hours before we were supposed to meet. He tells me he is already at the restaurant. I reply with, “What???? You’re there 1 ½ hours before we were supposed to be there?” He says that he was in the area so he decided to go to the restaurant. I have to admit hearing that irritated the heck out of me. I mean I get 30 mins early but 1 ½ hours early. So now I feel like I have to rush to get ready. I jump in the shower, lotion up twice since I didn’t want to have any ashy elbows and I grab some straight leg jeans out the hamper. The jeans had a huge hole in the crotch. I had been meaning to throw them out but I had to do what I had to do. I pair it with a short solid peach dress, black jacket and black flats. I throw on my face, told my son to grab a few books and a toy and we head to his sitters. As I’m driving I remind myself of the precious cargo I have in the car. Almost chanting if you will. We get there safely, I drop him off and I drive to the restaurant that is about 8 mins away thank goodness. In my head I’m thinking man I hope he didn’t eat because I’m hungry and I’m going to eat. He’s just going to have to watch me.  I sprint in the restaurant look at the bar and over at a few tables and he’s not there.I text him and he replies telling me he’s in his car. What the? So I sit and wait about 2 mins and he comes in. He asks me how my day was and I tell him. 5 mins later he again asks me how my day was. Hmm…yea you already asked me that I thought. I noticed his breath was tart just like the 1st time I met him. I was hoping he was just having an off day but I guess tart breath was a trait. I tell him how it bothered me that he came 1 ½ hours early and he starts to awkwardapologize. I immediately tell him to stop and that it was kind of him to be willing to wait that long but I would not want to inconvenience him like that going forward. Even though I would have been late myself. So we both needed to get it together. Eventually we get seated and things feel awkward. The conversation seemed so generic. This was weird because we talked all throughout our day every day. I ask him if he feels ok and he says yes. I tell him things feel awkward and that I needed a drink. I knew I wouldn’t be able to get through this without one at this point. We talk, I order some food he’s allergic too (oops) and we end our night with him hugging me with me just standing there with my arms at my side (he caught me off guard). I text him the usual, “Thanks for a great night yadda yadda” text and… decided no more 10 times a day text communications from me. By the 2nd day he texts me saying I just wanted him for the meal. I laugh it off as that was not why I went out with him. By the 2nd week he was sending me text messages about how we had a good thing going and he didn’t see why I didn’t contact him as much anymore. He was disappointed in the person I “really” was. I explained I had some things going on with family (which I did) and it was the holiday so I was busy. I told him that we were just getting to know each other as friends and I that he was putting too much thought into someone he was not dating. He replied with an apology. By January 1st 12:22 am he sent the Happy New Year text paired with an I’m not sure what happened I really appreciated you being in my life message. I decided that he closed our chapter with that one. But if he hadn’t…lets be real…I would have. Because this is me. This is Just Tree.

Published by: justtreeblog

Single Mother of one, corporate world working woman who has learned you can’t be accepted by everyone nor can you please everyone but that is what keeps the fire lit. Not because you’re fueled by haters but because if you pleased everyone you wouldn’t be living. Connect with me and grow with me. Because this is me. I'm JustTree

Categories Blog PostTags, , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

