Unaware Truth

I remember being in the 6th grade and the school bringing in a person to check everyone’s eyesight in the class. We all had to stand in a line waiting for our turn. A girl named Elizabeth was before me and she was struggling with being able to make out the characters. Then it was my turn. I too was having a problem seeing the characters. I didn’t think much of it. A few weeks later Elizabeth had glasses and I thought they looked very nice on her. I asked her how she got glasses and she told me a note was sent home with all the kids who had a problem seeing the characters. Again, I didn’t think too much about it. I go to 7th grade and notice that I am having trouble seeing the board. I tell my Mom and she takes me to the Optometrist and it turns out I need glasses. I was kind of excited! Glasses were something that was going to be all mine and for me to take care of. Even though at this time glasses equated to looking like a nerd I didn’t care. When my glasses came in my Mom took me back to the Optometrist and they were fitted to ensure they wouldn’t slide off my face or were crooked.  After sitting with them on for a while I felt slightly dizzy. I was told that was due to my prescription and that it would take a little while to get use too. While looking around at everything in the store I noticed how sharp everything was.

What happened next contributes to a moment in my life that changed me. I walked outside and looked up at the trees. I could see the leaves. I didn’t know that you could see individual leaves on a tree. Leaves on a tree to me looked more like blotches of color. Like something out of a Dr. Seuss book. blurryI start to think about all the other things that had been blurry? Even at 12 yrs. old I knew this was important. Now as an adult I make an effort to see things from a different angle. For who knows how long I had been looking at leaves thinking they looked like blotches when in reality (although they may come from the same tree) there is usually something differentiating one leaf from another. For me it was as if I was seeing things for the first time. I could see faces clearer; I could make out things in the dark. Before bushes and people looked identical from a certain distance. It was a profound moment in my life. Sometimes I take off my glasses seeing how blurry, fuzzy and merged colors look to me. It is a very humbling experience. It has even contributed to my faith walk as a reminder of how blind we can be at times unaware of truth. No matter how things look there may be an undiscovered way. Just like how I put on my glasses to see clearly. I have to put on a conscious decision to examine things with a different perspective to see clearer. It has taught me that regardless of how you are introduced to it, that doesn’t mean that’s how it is supposed to be seen.Because this is me. This is JustTree.

 

Leave a Reply

